Skip to content

Winners announced at the Oadby and Wigston Awards Evening

Another fantastic evening took place at the 8th annual Oadby and Wigston Awards Evening (Wednesday, 22 November). With over 220 guests and 13 awards handed out to the shining lights of the Borough. The proceedings were commenced by the Mayor of Oadby and Wigston, Cllr Samia Haq, who spoke of the fantastic talent that we have on our doorstep.

This was followed by “Moving Together”, an over 55's dance group who brought a sense of flair, skill, and enjoyment to the evening with their Bollywood style. Police Inspector Mike Cawley was then welcomed on stage to present the “Grow Out Crime” Community Award, a scheme designed to raise awareness of the importance of Garden Crime. The marvellous compère for the evening, Gaynor Nash introduced several esteemed guests for the evening, including Tom Brady of the Leicester Tigers.

The winners of the 2017 awards were as follows:

  • “Grow Out Crime” Community Award – Lucas Wayman
  • Junior Leader/Coach/Instructor of the Year – Mia Solanki
  • Adult Coach/Instructor of the Year – Sara Davies
  • Junior Team/Club/Group of the Year – RDC Cheerleaders
  • Adult Team/Club/Group of the Year – RDC Supremacy
  • This Girl Can Award – Linda Bradshaw
  • Physical Activity Participation Award – Maggie Howard
  • Everyone Active Member of the Year (Presented by Everyone Active Ambassador, Haseeb Ahmad) – Tracy Clayton
  • Junior Sportsman of the Year – Tom Derbyshire
  • Junior Sportswoman of the Year – Lilia Boukikova
  • Disabled Sportsman/woman of the Year – Haseeb Ahmad
  • Sportsman/woman of the Year – Hope Warner
  • Unsung Hero/Outstanding contribution to sport Award – Jo Hextall

Through these awards, the success of Oadby and Wigston Borough Council’s leisure partnership with Everyone Active was celebrated, as well over 50% of the award winners had some form of affiliation with Parklands Leisure Centre (through either possessing free membership via the GO GOLD scheme or basing their club/group at the leisure centre).

Following the conclusion of the awards, the winners of the raffle – kindly provided by Everyone Active – were announced, with prizes including Everyone Active Gym Bag and Rucksack, and free memberships.

Finally, closing words and an excellent summary of the night's celebrations were provided by the Leader of Oadby and Wigston Borough Council, Cllr John Boyce.

Share this page:

Back to top