Skip to content

Listed Buildings in the Borough

This web page explains about Listed Buildings in general and in the context of the Borough of Oadby and Wigston. It also has external links to English Heritage.Bushloe House (Historical Photograph)

Listed Buildings are those that are deemed to be of historical importance and enable acknowledgement and understanding of our shared history. English Heritage have a definitive list of all Listed buildings under the 'List of Buildings of Special Architectural or Historic Interest' national register. The Borough of Oadby and Wigston currently has 37 Listed Buildings. As a rule of thumb, the older the building, the more likely it is to be listed.

Why are Buildings Listed?

Buildings are Listed in order to protect the country's historic and architectural character. Listing a Building is not a preservation order restriction change; however, it means buildings are subject to different planning regulations and policy. Under the Planning (Listed Buildings and Conservation Areas) Act 1990, English Heritage has a statutory duty to list all buildings of historic and architectural interest.

What are the Criteria when Listing a Building?

The following link provides information on the general principles applied by the Secretary of State when deciding whether a building is of special architectural or historic interest and should be added to the list compiled under the Planning Act 1990.

English Heritage Listing Criteria

The Different Grades of Listing

When buildings are Listed, they are graded into one of the three following classifications, based on their relative importance:

Grade I - buildings of 'exceptional interest', sometimes considered to be of International importance. English Heritage suggests that of the 375,000 buildings listed within the United Kingdom, 2.5 per cent are of Grade I classification. The Church of All Saints is the Borough's only Grade I listed building.

Grade II* - particularly important buildings that are of more than 'special interest'. Some 5.5 per cent of all listed buildings within the United Kingdom fall into this category. There are four buildings of such classification within the Borough.

Grade II - buildings that are nationally important and of 'special interest'. Grade II is the most common of the three classifications and is the most likely grade given to a home.

More Information on Listed Buildings within the Borough

For more information regarding the Listed Buildings in the Borough of Oadby and Wigston, please click on the relevant links below:


Wigston and South Wigston

Share this page:

Last updated:

Back to top