Skip to content


Coronavirus Outbreak FAQ's - Find out what you can and can't do here:

Night Time Economy Update - Find out about our recovery plan here:

Advice & Service Updates - Visit our 'Coronavirus Information' page here:

Community Hub - If you are vulnerable and need support, click here:

Volunteering - If you want to volunteer or are a volunteering organisation, click here:

Need to Contact Us? - Do it online here:

The Equality Act 2010

On this page you will find out information about the key principles of the Equality Standard for Local Government (ESLG).

The Equality Standard for Local Government was developed in partnership between the Commission of Racial Equality, the Disability Rights Commission, the Equal Opportunities Commission and the Employers Organisation for local government, with assistance from The Audit Commission and the Local Government Association.

The standard has now been revised and is the Equality Framework for Local Government.

The key principles of the framework

Since 2001 the Equality standard has helped local authorities to make real progress in mainstreaming equalities, however over time the Strengths and Weaknesses of the standard have become clearer. The new framework will respond to new thinking on actual real equality outcomes and the new challenges that face local authorities today.

The new framework builds on and recognises all the work that we have already undertaken under the old standard, whilst containing many new features.

The framework is based on three levels of achievement:

• Developing

• Achieving

• Excellent

These three levels replace the previous 5 levels of the old standard, this reduces the number of actions, which can be implemented in ways that are relevant and proportionate to our needs.

The framework highlights action against:

• Public duties

• Self Assessment for evidence gathering

• Helps to meet high levels of customer care

There are five performance areas within the framework, all five of these performance areas need to be achieved within each of the three levels, they are:

1. Knowing your communities and equality mapping

2. Place shaping, leadership, partnership and organisational commitment

3. Community engagement and satisfaction

4. Responsive service and customer care

5. A modern and diverse workforce

The council's progress in delivering Equality of Opportunity is assessed against the Equality Standard for Local Government.

Share this page:

Last updated:

Back to top